top of page
ama supercross.jpg


The AMA Supercross Championship is an American motorcycle racing series that was founded by the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) in 1974. The races involve dirt bikes riding on a specially built track with steep jumps and obstacles. These tracks are usually constructed inside stadiums, providing an accessible and comfortable viewing experience for spectators.

From 1974 until 2002 and again from 2008 until 2021, the series held the status of World Championship of the sport. The series, along with the AMA Motocross Championship, will form the SuperMotocross World Championship in 2023.


The first motocross race that took place on a stadium race track was held on August 28, 1948, at Buffalo Stadium in Montrouge, a suburb of Paris. In the late 1960s, as the popularity of motocross grew in the United States, Bill France added a professional motocross race to the 1971 Daytona Beach Bike Week schedule. The 1972 race was held at Daytona International Speedway, featuring a constructed track on the grass surface between the main grandstand and 

the pit lane.

The AMA Supercross Championship begins in early January and runs until early May. It includes 17 rounds in the 450cc Class, 9 rounds in the 250cc West Class, and 9 rounds in the 250cc East Class. These rounds are held in football and baseball stadiums across the United States.

The AMA Supercross Championship meets follow a Short track motor racing format with two heat races and a consolation race in each class. Each heat race lasts for six minutes plus one lap and consists of 20 riders, with the possibility of having 21 riders based on their qualifying results. The top nine riders in each heat advance to the feature race, while the remaining 22 riders compete in the Last Chance Qualifier. This consolation race is five minutes plus one lap, and the top four riders progress to the final race.

AMA Supercross results of each race showcase the top riders in each class and provide insights into their performance and standing in the championship. Race fans and enthusiasts closely follow the championship results and  it serves as an indication of the riders' performance throughout the championship and their chances of winning the overall championship title.

On April 29, round 15 of the AMA Supercross Championship will take place in Nashville, TN, before the series moves to Denver for round 16 on May 6.

Stay tuned for more information, news, and updates on the AMA Supercross Championship only at

Latest in AMA Supercross

bottom of page