top of page


NHRA (National Hot Rod Association)

The National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) is a drag racing governing body that sets rules in drag racing and hosts events all over the United States and Canada. With over 40,000 drivers on its rosters, the NHRA claims to be the largest motorsports sanctioning body in the world. 


Wally Parks formed the organization in 1951 in California to establish a governing body to organize and promote drag racing. The first NHRA Nationals was held in Great Bend, Kansas, in 1955. The NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series, a 24-race national event series, is the greatest drag racing series globally, bringing together the best drag racers from all around North America and the world. The NHRA U.S. Nationals is now officially known as the U.S. Nationals and are hosted at Lucas Oil Raceway in Brownsburg, Indiana. National event winners get a trophy statue in memory of founder Wally Parks. The trophy is known by the nickname "Wally."

Image by Glenn Hansen

The NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series is the top division of the NHRA. The NHRA schedule consists of four professional classes:

  • Top Fuel Dragster

  • Funny Car

  • Pro Stock

  • Pro Stock Motorcycle 

The NHRA offers programs for racers of all skill levels:

  • One of the most popular programs is NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style, featuring grudge-style racing.

  • Summit Racing Series is a local-track racing series that pits different vehicles against one another.

  • NHRA The Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series is a national and divisional series with eight competition categories.

  • The NHRA Full Throttle Series is a professional drag racing series with over $3 million in prize money.

  • The Jr. Drag Racing League is a group for children aged eight to seventeen. On NHRA member tracks across the country, kids race half-scale dragsters in a safe atmosphere.

The gititstore is your all-inclusive NHRA store of the latest on NHRA activities. For the latest in NHRA 2022 schedule, NHRA results and NHRA news visit

Latest in NHRA

bottom of page