top of page


Pick a category to know about the particular category

Motorcycle Racing

Motorcycle racing (also known as moto racing or motorbike racing) is a form of motorcycle racing. Motorcycle racing is the recreational and competitive use of motorbikes on highways, tracks, closed circuits, and natural terrain by both pros and amateurs. Motorcycle racing is comparable to vehicle racing in terms of variety. Road racing, trials, speedway, motocross, drag racing, ice racing, and hill climbs are the most common. The development of motorcycling largely paralleled and often coincided with the development of automobile sports.

The first motorcycle, a German design, was introduced in 1894, and the first race, a 400-kilometer event, was organized in France only a few years later. The Tourist Trophy (TT) races have been conducted on the Isle of Man since 1906, and the pre-war motorsport culture flourished throughout Central Europe.

The international cup was formed in 1904 by the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM), which brought together five nations: Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, and the United Kingdom. The first international cup race was held in Dourdan, France, in 1905. However, the Tourist Trophy (TT) race became the most well-known European motorcycle race. The inaugural TT race was held on the Isle of Man in 1907, on a course that would become the most famous in the world for decades.

Motorcycle Grand Prix racing began in the United States shortly after vehicle racing returned after World War I ended. With the creation of the Federation of American Motorcyclists in New York City in 1903, motorcycle racing in North America commenced. By 1924, this organization had grown into the American Motorcycle Association, which is still functioning today. The Belgian Grand Prix began in 1921, while Germany began motorcycle Grand Prix racing in 1925, and the Dutch Grand Prix followed suit the following year. The Daytona 200-mile (320-kilometer) event has been the most popular in the United States since 1937. It takes place on the same road circuit as the Daytona 24-hour motor event.

bottom of page