top of page


The Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) is a renowned touring car racing series that takes place every year in the UK. Initially called the British Saloon Car Championship, it has a long-standing history that dates back to 1958. In 1987, the series underwent a name change and was rebranded as the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC)

Over the years, the championship has adhered to various national and international regulations, such as FIA Group 2, FIA Group 5, FIA Group 1, FIA Group A, FIA Super Touring, and FIA Super 2000. From 2000 to 2003, the BTCC race series also included a lower-key Group N class that featured production cars.


During a BTCC race weekend, the Saturday program consists of two practice sessions followed by a 30-minute qualifying session. The qualifying session is crucial as it determines the starting order for the first race on Sunday, with the fastest driver earning the coveted pole position.

These touring car races vary in length depending on the circuit, with between 16 and 25 laps being the typical range. However, in the event of a safety car being deployed for three or more laps, the race may be extended by up to three laps.

After the conclusion of the first race, the finishing order sets the grid for the second race. So, the winner of the first race starts in pole position, the second-placed driver starts in second position, and so on.

For the third and final race of the day, the starting grid is determined by a draw that decides which position on the grid will be reversed. This means that the drivers who finished the second race between 6th and 12th place could potentially start in pole position for the third race, depending on the draw's outcome. This exciting touring car race format ensures that every driver has a chance to fight for a victory and keeps the championship battle unpredictable and thrilling for fans.


In the Kwik Fit BTCC, points are awarded to the top 15 drivers in each race. The winner of a race receives 20 points, with the second and third-placed drivers earning 17 and 15 points, respectively. The points awarded decrease with each finishing position, with the 15th place driver earning one point.

In addition to these points, drivers can earn an extra point for claiming the pole position, setting the fastest lap, and leading a lap. However, each driver can only earn one "Lead a Lap" point per race, no matter how many laps they lead.

This point system has been in place since 2012 and is used in all three races held over a BTCC race weekend.

Latest in BTCC

bottom of page