top of page
GT world.jpg

GT World Challenge News

One could say the older cousin to NASA is The Sports Car Club of America founded the GT World Challenge America in 1990 as a North American auto racing series. Yet, the SCCA series began in 1944 and produced some of the finest race cars and racecar drivers in the world. A number of famous individuals outside of motorsports started their driving careers in the SCCA and advanced to become some serious competitive racers such as Paul Neuman and Patrick Dempsey. It has been managed by the Stephane Ratel Organisation since 2018, and the United States Auto Club has sanctioned it since 2017.

There are four driver classifications and five vehicle classes in the GT world challenge: GT3, GT4 (Sprint, SprintX, East and West), and Touring Car, which includes TCR homologated cars as well as distinct TC and TCA classes with modified production vehicles like the BMW M235iR and Mazda MX-5 Cup car.

The Blancpain GT World Challenge events are two-driver, 90-minute SprintX type races twice a weekend. Single-driver 50-minute Sprint races and two-driver 60-minute Sprintx events are the two racing formats in GT4 America. Separate TCR 40-minute sprint races and 40-minute TC & TCA races make up the Touring Car America championship.


In addition to the existing Sprint format racing series, an extended sprint format series was launched as a standalone championship in 2016. SprintX races last 60 minutes and include driver and tire changes that must be made.

GT4 East and GT4 West 

In 2019, GT4 America launched two regional series in its Sprint X Championship. In a two-driver, pro-am format, the regional series consists of five rounds on the eastern and western portions of North America...


Gititstore brings all the latest updates and news from the GT world, all in one place.

Latest Updates In GT World

bottom of page